Dryhead

Before heading home, dad and I decided to stop by Dryhead one last time. We saw the bachelors Seattle, Hidalgo, and Jalisco. Seattle was a band stallion before Blizzard stole his band. He has a limp and scrapes, but despite this, he seems to be doing fine.

Something I didn’t talk about before was how green the Dryhead is compared to last year, so I’m including a picture for perspective.

The background is all grass, compared to last year's dirt

Seattle

Cactus Flower

Cactus Flower

Seattle, Jalisco, Hidalgo

Seattle, Jalisco, Hidalgo

Seattle, Jalisco, Hidalgo

Hidalgo picks on Seattle

Hidalgo picks on Seattle

Hidalgo picks on Seattle

Hidalgo picks on Seattle

At that point Seattle seemed to say enough’s enough and left. Brothers Hidalgo and Jalisco stayed in the area for quite some time, even walking right by dad and I.

Brothers Hidalgo and Jalisco

Jalisco

Brothers Hidalgo and Jalisco

When my dad and I left, I was content. We saw more on one trip than I had expected. While I don’t think this will be my last trip to see wild horses, I don’t think my next one will be for a while. I truly hope more people are able to go on a trip like this.

2 Comments »

  1. cssssswv Said:

    You are so very Lucky !! It is MY BIGGEST DREAM to go there….!!….
    It has been an extremely difficult last 2 Years for me; but I’m trying to figure the Best way I can Make a Memorable Trip to the Pryor Wild Horse Range -with whatever I have left–as my very own Gift–TO MYself 🙂
    It is just rather intimidating to Go there all alone ?!………[But, I’m going to DO IT, somehow, someway…] So, thank you very much for Sharing your photographs, and commentary; I am really enjoying this 🙂
    and you are a wonderful photographer ! –are you a professional at photography, too?

    • If you are going alone, I would recomend just going to Dryhead. On the Pryors cell service is spotty and the roads are poorly maintained. I would also recomend stopping at The Mustang Center for advice on how to view the horses. This way, they have a good idea of where you are going in case something happens to you. However, as long as you follow thier guidlines, nothing should happen. As for my photography, I am not a professional photographer, nor do I plan on selling pictures anytime soon. I just love taking pictures.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

