MN Zoo March 13, 12

Well, folks, just like I promised I went to the zoo again. This time in the morning, and this time with my camera on a better setting. So, if you’re ready, I’ll give tips about taking pictures around The MN Zoo.

The first tip is practice. I’ve been trying to get a good picture of the otters for as long as Russia’s Grizzly Coast has been an exhibit. This is the first time I’ve been pleased with the results.

The second tip is to stay long enough to get a series. In this case, it was the grizzlies. They were having fun playing in the water as shown by my next pictures.

My next tip is keep your camera at the ready. Pronghorns don’t tend to do much, but when they do run it’s fun to watch.

Another tip is get a variety of shots. For example, The next two shots are of The Asian Wild Horses, but one is a landscape and the other is a portrait.

Another tip for this one is know behavior of your subject. Horses, like people have personalities, and it is clear that the colt wants to play. She was very patient with him. She would back up, but she never tried to kick him. (I would have if I were her.)

After watching the horses for a very long time, the next stop was the Dholes. My next tip has to do with being patient. It is get your timing down. It’s hard to photograph expression when an animal is resting, but at least you can get them looking.

This next picture has to do with both timing, getting a variety of shots and, knowing your subject. A good way to know if something might happen is abrupt shifts in behavior. Like this Siberian Tiger changing directions from pacing at the fence line to move to the puddle.

The next stop was the warm tropics trail. A tip that goes with this next picture is photographing movement. A good way is to focus the camera before trying to match the speed of the animal.

My next tip is don’t pressure your subject if you can help it. This is a picture of the new male gray wolf on exhibit. (No new pups yet, but hopefully next year.) He is a very shy boy. Basically, if your patient, you’ll get a good shot eventually.

Those are the major tips and tip combinations that I could think of, so I hope it helps. There is just one more: Focus on the details. With that, I’ll leave you with this picture of a Wild Turkey tail.

 

Leave a Reply

