Pockets of Nature

The one word I associate with the stereotyped suburb is unity. The newer the neighborhood is, the more likely the houses are going to be the same. The most bit of green you’ll find is the lawn, after that you’re lucky if you have a garden. Every once in a while, you get a place like Burnsville. While I could go on and on about Burnsville’s merits, I only plan on focusing on what I’m tentatively calling a pocket of nature.

I’ve lived in Burnsville most of my life. I’ve lived in the same house since around 6th or 7th grade and am now a freshman in college. Despite this, I only noticed the path into the woods near our house until my dad showed it to me. There’s nothing to indicate that any government agency manages the land. Nonetheless, there is a series of well-troden paths in a location that, once in them, seem much bigger than the boundary would indicate.

The point that I am trying to make is, the people in Burnsville care about nature. At one point someone decided to make the woods more accessible, but not so much that valuable habitat is lost. If we didn’t have this pocket of nature, I wouldn’t have been able to use my knowledge learned in the forestry course I am taking, and I wouldn’t have been able to photograph the owl I saw. So thank you, Burnsville, for caring.

Leave a Reply

