Tribute to Lakota

 

I learned from reading the blog Wild in the Pryors that Lakota was put down. I want to focus on his life in this post, so if you want to learn more about the injury that lead to the decision to euthanize him check out Wild in the Pryors. As a 20-year-old he had a long life free in his mountain home.

As many of you may know, last June my dad and I visited the Pryor Mountain Wild Horse Range. During that visit we were able to go to the top of the mountain for the first time. On the second day of the trip, we set up our chairs across the road from Penn’s Cabin. As we sat there all day horses would graze really close to us, but no band came closer to us then Lakota’s.

Lakota was busy courting one of his mares while we were there. That’s the corner of the lawn chair in the foreground, just to give you an idea of distance.

He was known for being a gentle stallion and having a band made up of horses close to each other. This was especially apparent when we watched the two yearlings in the band.

Kohl (the black) is the daughter of Lakota, but Knight is not Lakota’s offspring. Lakota’s band took him in when his mom died.

Lakota stood close to us, content to graze, not phased at all.

My favorite picture that I took of Lakota.

Then, it was time for them to go.

Lakota’s band leave after a wonderful visit.

It’s sad to see Lakota go, but he had a great, long life on the mountain. I hope Kohl and his other children will be able to stay on the range during this years round-up.

13 Comments »

  1. Anh Nguyen Said:

    Thank you so much for sharing the pictures and a story of Lakota. Lakota will be missed and his beautiful images and spirit of a wild Stallion will live in our hearts forever.
    You have taken great pictures. Please, keep up the good work.

    • Thank you for the support, I don’t like making these types of posts. However, I think it’s important for me to get all the information I can about the horse range shared, even the sad parts.

  2. Anh Nguyen Said:

    It was so wonderful that you and your dad could be able to go up to the mountain top. I just wanted to visit the horse range for a week. June 2012, we flu into Billings and rented a SUV 4 wheel Drive but we could not be able to get to the top. I was so disappointed. What kind of vehicle that you and your dad drove to the mountain top?
    Did you rent it? Please, give me some advice. I would like to go back to the Pryor Mountain again soon. Thank you.

    • We used my dad’s Honda Pilot. It worked, but I would recomend using something like a truck if you can. I would highly recommend that you try again, just remember if you can’t make it to the top, the dryhead is also an option. I hope this helps, if not feel free to ask more questions.

      • Anh Nguyen Said:

        Thank you for your advice. Which road did you take to the top. I will try again soon.
        Please, excuse me for my spellling on the last post ( I meant that we flew into Billings…).
        I love the wild horses. I like to watch them and take pictures of their actions. My favorite is watching them grazing. It is so peaceful. I think they are very beautiful animals. The Pryor Mountain is unique and wild. I want to be there as often as I can.
        I agree with you. It is very important that you post all the information about the horse range. Thanks again.

  3. We used Burnt Timber, because it was the only road open at the time. However, last year had an unusual amount of snowmelt. Since I don’t know the conditions for this year, I’d encourage you to be in contact with The Pryor Mountain Mustang Center located in Lovell, WY. They can give you current range conditions, the roads to use, the locations of horses, and much more.

  4. Anh Nguyen Said:

    Thank you.

    • You’re welcome. I wish you luck on your next trip to the Pryors.

      • Anh Nguyen Said:

        I will keep you posted.

  5. Anh Nguyen Said:

    Hello,
    How are you doing? I bought a 4wd SUV and changed to 10 plies tires to drive to Pryor Mountain to visit the wild mustangs and took lots of pictures. My trip was 17 days including travel time.

    • I’m doing well, although I must admit I’m missing the wild horses. Did I see that you shared the stories of your trip on Sandy’s blog?

      • Anh Nguyen Said:

        Yes, I did share my story on Sandy’s blog. I took so may pictures. I will spend months to go though, to edit and print out some for decorating my walls.

      • Your photos and stories are beautiful, thanks for sharing them.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

