Looking back on 2012

Lately I’ve been focused on my future. Maybe even too focused, so I decided to look at some of the photos I took the past year. Personally, I think I take way too many, but I decided to share some anyway.

Reba

Spending time with my school’s horses helped me develop an eye for details. Pun not intended.

frost

MN winters are cold, but extremely beautiful.

The Asian Wild Horse colt at the MN Zoo was already causing trouble and he wasn't even a yearling. Foreshadowing at it's finest folks.

The Asian Wild Horse colt at the MN Zoo was already causing trouble and he wasn’t even a yearling. Foreshadowing at it’s finest folks.

Exploring new places allowed me to photograph this owl.

Exploring new places allowed me to photograph this owl.

Some of the kids at my school from last spring.

Some of the kids at my school from last spring.

I spent last Easter with a friend and she took me riding.

I spent last Easter with a friend and she took me riding.

Colt

Mare and foal pair on campus.

Last spring was the first time seeing killdeer eggs or a killdeer. After that I started noticing them everywhere.

Last spring was the first time seeing killdeer eggs or a killdeer. After that I started noticing them everywhere.

Spring is beautiful on campus.

Spring is beautiful on campus.

The MN Zoo has a lot to see, especially when there is intereting behavior.

The MN Zoo has a lot to see, especially when there is interesting behavior.

I found a shortcut to mushrooms with my dad.

I found a shortcut to mushrooms with my dad.

A wild racoon stole the show at the bird theater. Luckily it was just practice.

A wild racoon stole the show at the bird theater. Luckily it was just practice.

The MN Zoo has made a much needed impovement on the reef.

The MN Zoo has made a much-needed improvement on the reef.

A photo from Superior National Forest in May.

A photo from Superior National Forest in May.

I like to pretend that after years of stalking them the geese are starting to get used to the crazy girl with the camera. Either that or they were thinking of attacking me.

I like to pretend that after years of stalking them the geese are starting to get used to the crazy girl with the camera. Either that or they were thinking of attacking me.

My first time photographing young birds at the MN Zoo.

My first time photographing young birds at the MN Zoo.

It has been fun watching the Dhole pups grow up.

It has been fun watching the Dhole pups grow up.

Remember the foreshadow photo I posted? This is the same colt playing with dad. Mom is not impressed.

Remember the foreshadow photo I posted? This is the same colt playing with dad. Mom is not impressed.

In late summer I convinced my parents to Blue Mounds State Park. I think the bee is wondering if the flower makes his but look fat.

In late summer I convinced my parents to Blue Mounds State Park. I think the bee is wondering if the flower makes his but look fat.

Just like in winter fall in MN is beautiful.

Just like in winter fall in MN is beautiful.

My school has fantastic oppertunities for students. This fall I was able to see a cooper's hawk release.  She's demonstrating her most feirce death stare.

My school has fantastic opportunities for students. This fall I was able to see a cooper’s hawk release. She’s demonstrating her most fierce death stare.

I took this while volunteering. I think I like this better in sepia than color.

I took this while volunteering. I think I like this better in sepia than color.

Lastly (for now) I saw this Chickadee while at a sustainability confrence in Duluth.

Lastly (for now) I saw this Chickadee while at a sustainability conference in Duluth.

While looking at the past year has been fun, I’ve also been making plans for my future. Those plans, at least until they solidify, will be for another blog post. For now, I everyone’s past year went as well as mine. I wish everyone luck in 2013.

2 Comments »

  1. It looks like you had a fantastic 2012! All the best with your plans. Love the photos, especially the frost and thistles! ❤

    • Thanks, Rachel! Based on your blog it seems like you had an exciting Christmas. I wish you luck with all your wild horse adventuring both at home and on the range.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

