Summer Plans

Many of you by now know that this summer I will be interning at TCF. This also means that soon I will be visiting the Pryors for the first time since 2011. Lots of changes have taken place, caused both by man and nature. The most obvious change is the removal. It’s going to be odd to see the range without seeing the faces of some of my favorite young horses. Lynx, Breeze, Lancaster, to name a few, although in reality at any given time all of Pryor horses are my favorites regardless if they are still wild. And with the wild ones brings new life, and death. I will have a new set of names to learn and a new set of names to tribute.

As I learn and experience news, I will do my best to update everyone through this blog and facebook. Right now I am thinking there will be two ways that I will give updates: written updates and photos. Written updates mean blog posts and status updates. The former, in my opinion, self-explanatory whereas the latter is unrealistic, since the ability to give updates on the horses I saw each day in the range is dependent on having cell service. Cell service in a horse range, folks, is laughable.

The sane thing would just to do what I plan rather than explaining here, but I feel that I need an explanation for the names that I will be using this summer. For my convenience and for the ease of reading for blog posts I will only be using TCF names for the Pryor horses. It’s not out of disrespect to the BLM and their naming system, rather writing a blog using one name is hard enough with one name system let alone two. However, I am not ignoring the BLM names. On the About the Pryor Horses section of this blog I will still add both names for those of you that use the BLM naming system over TCF one. Also when I add photos to my facebook page I will do my best to add both names in the caption of the photo.

I am not an expert on these horses, so I will make mistakes. If I do so I will do my best to correct them in an efficient manner. I find it easier to correct mistakes on facebook than my blog, which is another reason why I will only be using TCF names on the blog. I’m also hoping that by explaining this now, it will help people understand what I mean when I make blog posts latter.

Another reason why I will be only using one set of names is I have plans for the stories on this blog. One of the benefits of being in a creative writing class is that I can write down my adventures in the horse ranges and call it an assignment. I started using both names for the horses, but soon writing became a chore and I quickly slipped into only using one name/horse. Since I can reliably spell TCF names more than the BLM names it was natural for me to use TCF names.

So far I have been writing down everything, and this summer I will continue to do so. However, looking over my work, it is clear that if I try to write everything down in one long book I will not have enough room to tell all of the stories and describe everything I want to. After gaining feedback from my instructor and fellow students I have decided that it might be more prudent to write short stories. In a sense the first draft of the stories will be this blog and people’s feedback will be more important than ever.

When (if?) I get these stories finished; I would love to get them published. Not to glorify my own writing, rather because each horse has a story. Not just in the Pryors, but in every HMA. I love the Pryors, so far they are my favorite, but I worry that
if only the story of the Pryors is told nationwide like Ginger did with Cloud, then I worry that soon the Pryors will be the only wild range left. I don’t mean to seem cynical, and I don’t think that is the future; however I can’t leave the possibility out either.

There needs to be some sort of way for the entire nation to know that horses still roam wild in the United States, but they won’t if people show that they don’t care. It’s easy to throw statistics at people about the numbers of horses in the wild vs. captivity, but people have a hard time digesting statistics without context. If we want people to care about the horses, statistics need to turn into stories and stories need to turn into facts. Ginger started that by telling stories about the Pryor horses, so realistically it can be done for the rest of the herds.

That’s where my stories come in. My writing style is still developing, and I am probably not the most knowledgeable about some of the horses, but my stories are honest. I tell them how I know them and try to show the wonder of being in a horse range. Maybe this will go somewhere, maybe not, but I’ll take what I can get.

Lastly, if horses have touched your heart wild or otherwise, please share. I think you’d find that there are avid listeners out there (myself included) eager to learn everything. As always I love respectful discussion, so please leave your thoughts in the comments of this blog.

View to Sykes Ridge.

View to Sykes Ridge.

4 Comments »

  1. Joy Said:

    Once again, you have “hit the nail on the head”. I look forward to your stories… both about the Pryors and other HMAs. Have fun with the work — I’m sure it will be quite an adventure 🙂

  2. Stories for every HMA you say? I’m going to read the heck out of that book! When do you want to start?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

