White Mountain July 2013

In late July Rachel Reeves took me to White Mountain, WY. I was excited, but admittedly I had no idea what to expect. There’s no better person to travel with than Rachel and soon we saw horses. The first horse we saw was Gladiator and I quickly saw why the handsome bachelor is her favorite. Gladiator was joined by the bachelor Ender and soon they were wrecking havoc on the nearby bands.

Bachelors Gladiator and Ender.

Bachelors Gladiator and Ender.

Gladiator greets another stallion.

Gladiator greets another stallion.

After confronting Ender this stallion heads back to his band.

After confronting Ender this stallion heads back to his band.

After a while the action slowed and Ender started yawning. Evidently the poor guy tuckered himself out during all those fights. I would have felt bad for him had I not known that he brought it upon himself.

Ender during a series of yawns.

Ender during a series of yawns.

Once we saw that the action was over we moved to a different part of the range to find more horses. Over the tall sage, we saw  more horses. They weren’t as accommodating as the other horses, more skittish. I was thankful for every bit of the experience as the horses would stop, stare, and flee.

One of the more skitish bands deciding if we were a threat.

One of the more skittish bands deciding if we were a threat.

As it neared sunset, Rachel and I searched for less skittish horses. We found some that were more concerned with eating than us and that left us with a different sort of problem.  With the tall sage it made it hard to get pictures of their faces, but that is as it should be. I would much rather have them uncaring of my presence than get the “perfect” shot. I think I get much better photos when I am patient and wait for them, in this case I was glad I did wait.

Briefly looking up from grazing as the sunsets.

Briefly looking up from grazing as the sunsets.

The next morning Rachel and I spent a couple of hours with the horses before heading home. We saw some bachelors and I was able to see more of the curly horses in the area.

A bachelor eyes us warily.

A bachelor eyes us warily.

I had fun watching this curly mare with her foal.

I had fun watching this curly mare with her foal.

Finily we had to go so I contented myself with taking one last picture of a curly horse before putting the camera away.

Eventually we had to go so I contented myself with taking one last picture of a curly horse before putting the camera away.

I really enjoyed my trip to White Mountain and hope to go back someday. Rachel’s a wonderful person to travel with and fantastic guide so I would highly recommend contacting her before going there. For now I say to thee Gladiator and Ender: May the odds be ever in your favor. (They’re not, but I’ll leave sex skewing for another blog post.)

Leave a Reply

