Summer in Review 2013

Tomorrow’s the start of school and with it comes the bustle of buying book and settling in. Despite all of the anticipation of a new school year I decided to take a moment to reflect on the amazing experience I had this past summer. I’ll only focus on the horse aspect of the internship, 1. they’re pretty pictures, and 2. office life, although exciting in its own way does not make for a good blog post. If people have questions they’re welcome to contact me.

Yellowstone & Pryors May Trip:

During this trip I was able to see and experience a lot of new things. While in Yellowstone I saw some animals that I have never seen before. Coyote and Black Bear to be exact and it was fun to see how the animals reacted to human presence in Yellowstone differently than in the Pryors. They seemed torrent of people, but every animal has a comfort zone. The bears especially seemed to cause a traffic jam.

The coyote was not quite comforatable, but not ready to leave.

The coyote was not quite comfortable, but not ready to leave.

It took more than a traffic jam to get this bear to move.

It took more than a traffic jam to get this bear to move.

Once in the horse range I saw horses that were familiar to me as well as new faces. One example of this was seeing the yearlings in Cloud and DIamond’s bands play. It showed the friendship that horses share in the wild.

They were careful not to hurt each other as they played.

They were careful not to hurt each other as they played.

Something that’s also fun is seeing the horses in the Dryhead. There are a lot of bachelors in that area, but none are as striped up as the young stallion Kemmerer.

He was viewing Ginger and I with curiousity a trait that all young animals share.

He was viewing Ginger and I with curiosity a trait that all young animals share.

Speaking of young animals, one of my favorite foals was Navajo. With her missing eartips she’s the epitome of survival. Full of spunk and as an added bonus a chestnut. In other words she’ll make a classy lead mare someday.

She could teach me a bit about living life to the fullest.

She could teach me a bit about living life to the fullest.

My first trip to the Pryors was amazing and my next one would be in July.

Pryor Mountains July:

Something fun about this trip was that foals are more abundant in July. The filly in Casper’s band was especially fun to see since I had only seen the band from a distance. There were also new foals that were fun to get to know.

It was fun to see her unique snip up close.

It was fun to see her unique snip up close.

Nighthawk was fun to watch as he struggled to untangle his legs.

Nighthawk was fun to watch as he struggled to untangle his legs.

Finally it was time to go home and Lauryn took me down Sykes. I was glad she did, for we saw several bachelors. Among them was Medicine Bow, another new face for me.

It seemd like these bachelors didn't see to many people. They seemed a little wary.

It seemed like these bachelors didn’t see to many people. They seemed a little wary.

My next and last horse trip for the summer would be White Mountain a couple of weeks later.

White Mountain:

White Mountain was especially fun since it was all new. I had heard a lot from Rachel and Lauryn, but it was fun to see it with my own eyes. Gladiator and Ender were fun to see in person, the sunset was fantastic, and I finally got to see a curly. What more could a girl want?

They were fun to watch.

They were fun to watch.

A beautuful end to a day.

A beautiful end to a day.

I was amazed that this curly was so relaxed around  us. It helped we were in the car.

I was amazed that this curly was so relaxed around us. It helped we were in the car.

The horses taught me a lot this summer, and I know I’ll be back. It’s just a question of where and when. For now I’ll just content myself with blogging about them. As usual I love comments provided they’re respectful.

5 Comments »

  1. Joy Said:

    Enjoyed this very much 🙂

  2. Quite the crazy summer! I wish you all the best now that you are back in school. Maybe you’ll get a chance to relax now. 😉

    • Who needs to relax when you can touch a falcon in class? (Raptor ecology will give me serious bragging rights me thinks.)

      • Joy Said:

        Cool!!! Can you bring your camera? 🙂

      • Maybe my phone camera. I’ll need to ask about my SLR.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

