Horse Slaughter

The woe of going to a school with a equestrian center is at some point in a general communications course requiring a verbal presentation there will be a presentation laying out the pros of horse slaughter. Yes, I wrote pros. Usually their presentation hinges on one pint: the supply of horses is greater than the demand for horses ergo there are more neglected horses than in homes ergo slaughter is far more humane than letting a neglected horse be on its own for the rest of its life. Usually to drive the point home, there’s at least one picture of a painfully horrible looking hoof which is unfortunate if I’m going directly after the pro-slaughter presentation since there’s always someone who assumes that mustangs aren’t fit to live in the wild since all hooves are the same, but I digress.

Personally, if you haven’t been able to pick up on it, I disagree about this assessment about the good of horse slaughter. To make something clear, though, I am not against putting suffering animals down providing the process is humane. Horse slaughter is not humane, but I’m going to choose not to go into that for this post, if anyone would like to learn more, I’m sure google has a plethora of article regarding horse slaughter. The point I will try to make is that horse slaughter is addressing a symptom, but not the cure.

The main problem isn’t the amount of neglected horses, but why they’re neglected in the first place. There are lots of reasons why horses are neglected, but the one I’ll focus on is horse breeders. After all, they’re the one’s supplying the horses. Since I am not a “domestic horse person” (I have nothing against domestic horses, I just haven’t grown up with domestic horses and have very little knowledge of domestic horse care) I will not try to explain how breeding works, nor will I be able to provide stats for the number and breed of foals born each year.

However, before advocating that every neglected horse be put down via horse slaughter, I would like to see those statistics about horse births and if they are higher than people can purchase horses I would like to see statistics for why horses continue to be bred as well as why there isn’t demand for horses.

This doesn’t necessarily that over breeding is the reason for neglected horses, neglect, after all, is the product of the owners. However, asking the above questions is a good start to “finding the cure.” Like I already mentioned breeders control the supply of horses, but that doesn’t explain why horses become neglected.

This picture would have been useful a couple years ago for comp 1...

This picture would have been useful a couple years ago for comp 1…

1 Comment »

  1. Joy Said:

    Thanks for your thoughts, which as usual, are spot on…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

