Jack’s Band

Every time I visit the Pryors, I am surprised at how mature some of the younger horses look. Perhaps because we didn’t see any foals from this year, this was especially apparent during my last visit.

The first band we saw, lower than I have seen horses on Burnt Timber, was Jack’s new band. When I heard he came out of winter with an eclectic group of mares, I worried he would have a hard time hanging on to them. Now that I saw them in person, I was pleasantly surprised. By keeping his band low, Jack was able to keep them away from other horses. Plus, he seemed a gentle stallion, so I was happy to see him with a large band for such a young age.

The horses that really caught my eye were the almost yearlings in his band. Oklahoma (Okie for short), and Okiotak were inseparable when we watched. Okiotak means stay all winter, and it was clear the name suited him. He was as big or bigger than the older Okie, and Okiotak flopped down for a nap.

Okie pesters Okiodak.

Okie pesters Okiodak.

That did not faze Oakie. As soon as Okiotak was settled, Okie marched up to his friend and began pawing at him. When Okiotak continued to nap, Okie moved on to Marlene. Marlene grew up in a band with a lot of siblings, so although she had no interest in playing, she rebuffed Okie gently. First moving away, from his nips, Marlene lifted a back hoof. Only then did Okie get the message and he backed away. Finally Okiotak was up, and Okie had someone his size to pester.

Okie continues to pester his friend.

Okie continues to pester his friend.

Marlene Okie play.

 

Even when she moved away, Okie tried to play.

Even when she moved away, Okie tried to play.

Marlene nudges him away.

Marlene nudges him away.

Okie smile

Okie finally takes the hint.

 

Okiatak wakes up and the two buddies are inspereable again.

Okiatak wakes up and the two buddies were inseparable again.

It was a lot of fun to see how mature the horses were looking. Even Jasper who loved playing with bachelors, or Marlene wary in her natal band. A lot of changes had taken place in the Pryors, and as my trip continued, I would learn of more.

4 Comments »

  1. Abbie Said:

    It really is crazy how close they are in size! Glad to see Okiotak made it through the winter in good health and that Oklahoma seems to be active and well! How did Oklahoma and Lariat’s health seem to you?

    • Since I was distracted by the foals, and Lariat was behind some trees I did not see much of her. We did hear that there’s some concern for her since she’s been thin since before winter, but (and maybe I’m just saying this because I didn’t get a really good look at her condition) I’m hopeful since she’s young and there’s new grass she’ll be fine.
      I did find it odd that Okie was not bigger, but other than an awkward sheding phase he seems to be doing well. I’m sorry I can’t better answer your question about Lariat, but both foals seem to be doing well.

      • Abbie Said:

        No worries! Thanks for the info! I’ve been a bit worried about both of them for a while now given what we heard last summer. Hope they both come into better health in the spring!!

      • Okie seems fine, he’s just entering into the awkward yearling stage. I also think Madona always came out of winter looking rough too, and she ended up being a very prolific mare living into her 20s. The objective/optamistic part of me says that Lariat may just be a mare like Halcyon or Firestorm that comes out of winter thin. Lariat’s young, and this is her first foal, so there should be a bunch of time to gain weight over the summer. Of course, I would understand if you confirmed the validity of my thoughts with the Mustang Center, but I’m making my best hypothisis based on what I know about Lariat, range conditions, and my expectations for how conditions will play out.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

