Fiero’s band

Since my first mustang sighting was Fiero, he holds a special place in my heart. I’ve seen him at least once on each trip I’ve made, so I was hopeful I would see him again. Regardless, after having some rainy days, we were ready to see more horses.

On one of our last days in the Dryhead I was beginning to doubt Fiero. Just as I was wondering if we would see him after all, a band appeared on the road. Lead by Sacajawea, Fiero’s band walked toward us down the road.

Fiero's band approaches.

Fiero’s band approaches.

As she neared, Sacajawea veered away from the road slightly. Still close enough for photos, but far enough to make us feel better about seeing them on the road. We knew that Sacajawea has years of experience to help them navigate the Dryhead, but it still made us feel better to see them off the road.

Sacajawea leads the band down the road.

Sacajawea leads the band down the road.

Strawberry, Oregon, and Fiero follow behind.

Strawberry, Oregon, and Fiero follow behind.

Sacajewea leads the band off the road.

Sacajewea leads the band off the road.

As they walked past, I was I able to get a good look at each member of the band. It was great to see Fiero and Strawberry, but the newest member of the band threw me off.

I loved seeing Strawberry's expresions as she walked.

I loved seeing Strawberry’s expressions as she walked.

True to form, Fiero was eating as he walked.

True to form, Fiero was eating as he walked.

Since the last time visiting the Pryors, Sacajawea had a beautiful primitive filly named Oregon. This was my first time seeing her in person, and it was hard to believe she was only a yearling. Already so primitive looking, it was great to see her.

Oregon is growing up into a very primitive mare.

Oregon is growing up into a very primitive mare.

That’s why I love visiting the Pyrors. No many how many times I drive through the Dryhead, I always see something new. I love seeing Fiero each time I visit, but I love seeing new faces too.

2 Comments »

  1. Linda D Said:

    As you know, I’ve been wondering about Sacajawea. So good to see your pics and hear your observations! I’ve liked Fiero for a long time, too. I especially appreciate that he is Merlin’s son and they are so much alike. I have a good pic of him when he was dogging Admiral and band as a young guy. He was relentless—like Hidatsa. thanks for the update on Sacajawea. I hope Seattle is coping with retirement OK…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

