Online Adoption Bids*

As many of you know, there is currently a bait trap removal going on in the Pryors. The horses getting removed are being offered for internet adoption, and despite what felt like a slow start, all the horses have bids. Which is great news, but also means horses have been getting multiple bids. Although I deeply appreciate everyone’s commitment to the Pryor horses, I would like to respectfully request that since each horse now has a bid everyone please stop for the moment.

I personally found this black Sulpher gelding cute.

I personally found this black Sulpher gelding cute.

I know this might sound counterintuitive to people, but with so many horses in holding it shouldn’t be a competition about who gets what horse. There are still horses in the Pryors being removed this year, and the next few years until PZP is more effective, there will be around 6-12 horses removed each year. Even if someone has their heart set on a horse currently on the list, there will still be opportunities to adopt horses that are equally deserving of attention.

I bet all this Sulpher mare needs is TLC and groceries.

The Pryors aren’t the only horse range affected by removals. Currently Sulpher horses, horses from NV, and many others are being offered for adoption. It’s true that some have better conformation than others, but isn’t that also true of domestic horses? With a little bit of research, I’m sure someone will find the perfect horse.

I'm not sure if I'd agree with the BLM in calling this mare grulla, but there are plenty of good horses from NV, too.

I’m not sure if I’d agree with the BLM in calling this mare grulla, but there are plenty of good horses from NV, too.

If someone’s having a hard time maintaining high bid on a Pryor horse, please at least look at another gallery of horses being offered for adoption. If you still don’t find a desirable, then please consider waiting before continuing to bid on a Pryor horse.

There always seem to be burros in holding despite those cute ears.

There always seem to be burros in holding despite those cute ears.

Don’t get me wrong; I understand why the Pryor horses are alluring. However, I don’t think it should be at the expense of horses from other herds that are equally as deserving of adoption. Again, I really appreciate everyone who is able to adopt, but I’m sure myself and the horses would be even more grateful if we heard more than just certain groups of horses got adopted more often. If you haven’t adopted before, please consider it, and if you are already an approved adopter, please consider looking at the other horses rather than the ones just from the Pryors.

*Since I’m intentionally not including photos from the Pryors, all photos are from the internet adoption page.

2 Comments »

  1. I will go down this road with you, Livi. Sort of… back to my mantra that I will not adopt mare # 5462, I will not adopt mare # 5462…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

