Guest Post Prologue

As usual, looking through old photos gave me a healthy dose of nostalgia, which got me thinking: what’s it like visiting a wild horse range for the first time? It may seem like a silly thing to think, after all, I’ve experienced being in the Dryhead for the first time, but that was almost 6 years ago. It’s a different type of nostalgia when I look through those photos, and every time I visit a HMA in a different season, it feels a bit like I’m visiting it for the first time again.

Which is why I’ve enlisted help from my friend, Alex. For those of you familiar with my blog or photos this past May, she’s the one who visited Teddy Roosevelt National Park, the Pryors, McCullough Peaks, Yellowstone, and the Black Hills Wild Horse Sanctuary with me. May can be a tough time for a first introduction to wild horse ranges, but despite setbacks, Alex was always willing to hike the extra mile.

Despite rain, snow, and mud, I’d like to think I’ve made a wild horse advocate out of Alex. I have a feeling we have many more horse trips in our future. Until then, I hope everyone likes her account of her first experiences seeing mustangs.

I suppose I have to give credit to the Dryhead for making her first impression a nice one.

I suppose I have to give credit to the Dryhead for making her first impression a nice one.

Leave a Reply

