Horses on a Hill

Since there were other horses in the area, moving away from Casper’s band wasn’t a disappointing prospect. They also seemed slightly more tolerant of people. The slight challenge was that it was almost like looking at mirror images. Two similarly marked sorrel pinto, and minimally marked sorrel/bay/chestnut horses. I have a telephoto lens, but even then it made it hard to get an accurate view of markings.

dsc_0056

I think this is Jorja and Cruiser.

In theory the two sorrel pintos were stallions. The one on our left certainly acted like it. Strutting his stuff, he provided a distraction as he postured in our general direction. The other horses looked up occasionally, but mostly seemed more willing to graze.

dsc_0033

Casper, and Jorja.

Even in herds I’m familiar with IDing horses in the field can be a challenge. No matter how many times I’ve visited the Pryors, there’s still horses in the Dryhead I haven’t seen. I still really love the Pryors, but South Steens is quickly catching up in my esteem. The horses we saw were more wary, but for the most part we didn’t need to hunt to see them.

dsc_0033

More Cruiser and Jorja. Mostly because I’m about 95% sure I’m IDing them correctly vs. with the other two I’m only about 65% sure.

Visiting South Steens felt a lot different to me compared to herds in MT, WY, and ND. Sure, we used techniques developed in the Dryhead to try to seem more horses, but it felt more like visiting a HMA for the first time ever, not just visiting South Steens for the first time.

dsc_0043

I think the sorrel pinto is Jester. I’m not sure who the other horse is.

In other HMAs, I know I can do better if I haven’t seen a horse. With limited knowledge of a HMA a search for horses becomes a fun hike with a friend. It’s probably a philosophy I should have in all HMAs, but especially in the Pryors it can feel like a competition to see who’s seen the most horses.

dsc_0035

Since I’m not sure if the horse on the left is chestnut or bay pinto, or a mare or gelding, it’s making IDing the horse difficult.

Winter’s tough, I get cabin fever too, which is why I can relate to the feeling of craving news about mustangs. Winter can also be about having no expectations. I have some theories now about the horses we saw, but at the time we were relying on context clues mostly based on color. Trying to figure out the horses we did see can be a fun way to pass the time.

Leave a Reply

